2018 Honorary Maverick

Tribute Series

Friday, June 29th 

2:30 pm - 4:00 pm

The Carlton Cinema

Moderator: Kay Armatage


Debra Zimmerman has been the Executive Director of Women Make Movies (WMM) since 1983. For 12 of the last 13 years, films from WMM have won or been nominated for Oscars.  She is in great demand around the world as a speaker on independent film distribution, marketing and financing. She is a member of numerous Advisory Boards for many media organizations, a jury member for many international film festivals, and regularly sits on foundation and government funding panels. She is the recipient of New York Women in Film and Television's Loreen Arbus Award and the Hot Doc's Doc Mogul Award, given to those who "over the course of their career has made an essential contribution to the creative vitality of the documentary industry, both in his or her country or abroad.

Tribute to be moderated by Kay Armatage
Kay Armatage is Professor Emerita, Cinema Studies Institute and Women
& Gender Studies Institute, University of Toronto. Author, The Girl
From God’s Country: Nell Shipman and the Silent Cinema (2003);
Co-Editor, Gendering the Nation: Canadian Women’s Cinema (1999);
Editor, Equity and How to Get It (1999). Author of popular and
academic articles on women filmmakers and Canadian cinema.
Producer/director of documentary and experimental narrative films
1975-87; international programmer, Toronto International Film
Festival, 1983-2004; Board Member, Women in View, 2011-2018.

 “I am delighted and honored to be this years recipient of the FeFF Maverick Award and in the company of so many important women who have received honorary awards from the festival like Kay Armatage, Ingrid Veninger, Lea Pool and Alanis Obomsawin.   I am so looking forward to attending the festival this year.”